海洋原料是什么?

海洋是供养不同形式的海洋生物的生命摇篮。海洋原料是主要用于人类消费或动物饲料的富含营养的产品,来源于鱼类、磷虾、贝类和藻类等海洋生物。可持续性对于促进任何形式的海洋生物的产量至关重要,以确保海洋生物的持续增长和维护。

尽管鱼粉和鱼油是两种最为常见的海洋原料,但其他鲜为人知的海洋原料正变得越来越重要。新的开发和技术允许利用副产品或废弃物流,确保有价值的原料被回收利用。存在于甲壳类动物的壳中,通过酶水解产生的浓缩海洋蛋白质和肽,壳聚糖,以及来自各种藻类的产品是海洋资源的一些新产品。此外,用于胶囊和补充剂的营养保健品市场如ω-3脂肪酸EPA和DHA浓缩物市场迅速增长,且没有减缓的迹象。还有越来越多的海洋衍生产品被用于获得许可的医药产品。密集生长的藻类越来越多地被用于提取重要的欧米茄-3脂肪酸,这项技术正在不断地被研究和开发。

海洋原料用途颇为广泛,既可作为饲料原料,也可用于制作保健品,药品和化妆品。

什么是鱼粉?

鱼粉是通过蒸煮、压榨、烘干、研磨鲜鱼或食用鱼的下脚料后获得的一种褐色粉末。鱼油通常是明亮的棕色或黄色液体,是在制作鱼粉过程中(查看生产流程)产生的液体,需要经过一定的提炼。

鱼粉和鱼油通常以人类少食或不食的生长周期短、生长速度快的鱼类为原料生产,也可用海产品加工的副产品为原料。鱼粉、鱼油生产所使用的鲜鱼通常都是个小、多骨、富油的,如鳕C鱼、马鲭鱼、鲱鱼、毛鳞鱼,以及玉筋属鱼。下脚料也可作为鱼粉生产的原料,目前占到原料总量的25%左右,通常来源于含油量较少的白色肉质鱼类(大多油份位于肝脏中),或鲱鱼,鲭鱼等含油量高的鱼类的副产品。

鱼粉一般含有60%至72%的蛋白质,10%至 20%的灰分,以及5%至12%的脂肪。鱼粉对健康的益处表现在其提供了ω- 3长链不饱和脂肪酸EPA与DHA,通常被称为“欧米茄-3”。(生产者可以提供原料类别的详细信息,并标明鱼粉中的营养成分含量)

什么是鱼油?

鱼粉富含高品质和必需的营养物质、均衡的氨基酸、必需的脂肪酸、以及能量成份,是绝大部分水产养殖和畜牧养殖饲料中不可或缺的组成部分。鱼油主要是鱼类养殖饲料的添加剂,同时也可用于制造富含 欧米茄- 3脂肪酸的胶囊类保健品。

鱼粉是一种天然的富含欧米茄- 3的“功能性饲料”,可以促进牲畜的健康生长。饲喂富含欧米茄- 3鱼粉的牲畜所生产的肉类、奶类、以及蛋产品,反过来又成为促进人类身体健康的功能性食品。

水产养殖价值链展示了鱼粉鱼油产业如何联系其他食物链下级产业。

What are Marine Ingredients?

The oceans are a cradle of life supporting many diverse forms of marine life.  Marine ingredients are nutritious products used mainly for human consumption or animal feed and are derived from marine organisms such as fish, krill, shellfish and algae. Sustainability is of key importance in the harvesting of any of the marine life forms to ensure the continued growth and maintenance of the inhabitants of the oceans.

Although fishmeal and fish oil are two of the more commonly known marine ingredients other lesser known marine ingredients are becoming increasingly important.  New developments and techniques allow for the utilisation of by-products or waste streams ensuring valuable ingredients are recovered and utilised.  Concentrated marine proteins and peptides produced by enzyme hydolysis, chitosan, that is present in the shell of crustaceans, as well as products from various algae are amongst a few of the new products from marine resources. In addition the market for nutraceuticals such as the omega-3 fatty acids EPA and DHA concentrates used in capsules and supplements has grown rapidly with no sign of slowing down. There are also an increasing number of marine derived products being used in licensed pharmaceutical products.  Intensively grown algae are increasingly being used for the extraction of the important omega-3 fatty acids and this technology is being constantly investigated and developed.

Marine ingredients can be used across a broad range of applications from their traditional use as feed ingredients to applications in health food supplements, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics.

What is Fishmeal?

Fishmeal is a brown powder obtained after cooking, pressing drying and milling fresh raw fish and/or food fish trimmings. Fish oil is normally a clear brown/yellow liquid pressed form the cooked fish (see Production) and normally refined.

Fishmeal and fish oil are produced from short-lived, fast-growing harvesting stocks of fish for which there is little or no demand for human consumption and some is manufactured from by-products of seafood processing companies. The whole fish are mainly small, bony and oily such as anchovy, horse mackerel, menhaden, capelin and sandeel.

Trimmings, which are also used, now constitute around 25% of the raw material for fishmeal production. This is produced from either white-fish which is low in oil (most of the oil is in their livers) or trimmings from oily fish such as herring, mackerel, etc.

Fishmeal contains typically 60% to 72% protein, 10% to 20% ash and 5% to 12% fat, which is high in the health promoting omega-3 very long chain polyunsaturated fatty acids EPA and DHA, often referred to as 'omega-3s' (producers can supply details of the type of raw material used and expected nutrient content).

What is Fish Oil?

The high quality and concentration of essential nutrients, especially of well-balanced amino acids, essential fatty acids, and energy content makes fishmeal an indispensable ingredient in diets of most aquaculture species and many land-farm animals. Fish oil is used mainly in feed for farmed fish but is also used to make capsules containing omega-3 fatty acids as human health supplements.

Because of its high omega-3 content fishmeal is a natural 'functional feed' providing health and welfare benefits to livestock. Meat, milk and egg products from farmed animals fed high omega-3 fishmeal are, in turn, functional foods which benefit human health.

The Aquaculture Value Chain is one example of how the fishmeal and oil industry links with other businesses further down the food chain.