IFFO 历史

国际鱼粉鱼油协会(IFFO)成立于2001年,但是却拥有着50余年的演化及发展历史。国际鱼粉鱼油协会(IFFO)的前身为鱼粉出口商组织(FEO)、国际鱼粉生产商联盟(IAFMM)、国际鱼粉鱼油生产商联盟(IFOMA)。

贸易商联盟最初由法国路易•当亚伯在二十世纪五十年代初在巴黎的一次欧洲鱼粉生产商及科学研究者非正式会议上提出,并之后就此在伦敦进行了进一步的会议讨论。1956和1957两年,在伦敦召开了两次更大型的会议。1958年,在南非鱼粉生产商联盟(SAFMPO)的热情邀请下,众多鱼粉鱼油生产商及科学研究者在南非首都开普敦市进行了更为细致和深入的会议。时任英国商会会长吉姆•加德纳,与奥西安纳集团(Oceana Group)董事长安倍•夏皮罗,共同担任会议联合主席。此后,包括美国、丹麦、挪威、
西班牙、安哥拉、冰岛及葡萄牙等更多国家的代表参与到会议当中。在1959年于西班牙马德里举行的一次跟进会议中,确定了建立以安哥拉、法国、德国、南非、西班牙和英国生产商为主要发起者的国际鱼粉生产商联盟(IAFMM)。这些会议的形式逐渐转向于每年举行的年会。

1960年,随着市场供需关系不平衡严重影响了国际贸易市场,一些主要的鱼粉生产商及相关贸易商意识到他们需要对主要鱼粉消费市场进行深入的研究,并因此成立了代表安哥拉、挪威、南非、秘鲁,以及随后加入的智利、丹麦和冰岛主要鱼粉生产厂及出口商利益的鱼粉出口商组织(FEO)。代表秘鲁参会的成员包括后来成为全球最大鱼粉生产商的路易斯•班切罗•罗西,以及卡洛斯•索托马约尔。同年(1960),几大主要鱼粉生产及出口商签署了“巴黎公约”,推选巴黎贸易商雅克•施瓦茨作为第一秘书长,并成立了鱼粉出口商组织(FEO)。1970年,智利最大的生产商Corpesca S.A.加入了鱼粉出口商组织(FEO),并在市场数据收集与分析中发挥了重要的作用。

1964年,在国际鱼粉生产商联盟(IAFMM)第二任主席亚历•奥尔尼(英国)的提议下,开始邀请代理商、进口商、及贸易商加入到年会讨论中来。在此期间,丹麦和摩洛哥加入了IAFMM。

在26年后的1990年,随着生产商、贸易商、最终用户以及相关服务行业间合作与交流的加深,时任IAFMM主席、Corpesca董事长费利佩•萨尔迪瓦•拉瑞恩以及第二任总干事斯图尔特•巴洛的提议下,IAFMM开始着手建立非生产商会员(Associate Membership)制度。非生产商会员(Associate
Membership)面向广大涉及鱼粉或鱼油产业但是又不是生产工厂的申请者开放,在第一年就迅速地积累了45名非生产商会员。1992年,时任IAFMM主席,Suiderland公司市场部总监维维安•爱泼斯坦(南非)认识到,IAFMM在过去数年的发展中实际上是一家以科学研究为基础的机构,如果重组IAFMM并注册成为一家英国担保有限公司将会能够享受到政府津贴及税赋减免的优惠政策。在英国政府贸易和工业部的指导下,于1993年成立了新的注册机构,国际鱼粉鱼油生产商联盟(IFOMA)。在这种新的组织结构下,IFOMA能够在伦敦北部的圣奥尔本斯购买了新的办公室,比原先在伦敦市中心一座古老建筑第3、4层租赁的狭小办公室拥有了更好的办公环境。IFOMA同时在秘鲁首都利马开设了代表处。

在1999年,国际鱼粉鱼油生产商联盟(IFOMA,原IAFMM)与鱼粉出口商组织(FEO)的主要融资人意识到,为进一步提高同时运行两个相似协会的效率,提议两家协会应该合并为一个协会进行共同运行与管理。时任IFOMA主席Helge Korsager(英国)与FEO主席Eduardo Goycoolea(智利)被共同邀请讨论两家协会合并的可能性,同时受邀的还有IFOMA秘书长Stuart Barlow以及FEO秘书长Joe Bololanik。2001年正式成立了国际鱼粉鱼油协会(IFFO),总部设在英国圣奥尔本斯,委任Messrs Korsager和
Goycoolea为联合临时主席,Stuart Barlow被委任为秘书长,Joe Bololanik被委任为执行顾问。巴黎办事处随后被关闭。

在这段过渡时期,很多位于秘鲁的新兴生产商由于没有参与过协会前身所组织的相关会议及活动,对加入新协会存在一定的顾虑。第一任当选主席伊万•奥里克,此前在两家协会合并的过程中发挥了重要的作用。在两年任期内,他不知疲倦地说服秘鲁的几大生产商加入为IFFO成员。在他的努力和其他原协会各国成员的大力支持下,IFFO取得了蓬勃发展。

2004年,在IFFO第一位女性主席、来自冰岛的佐尔法伊格•萨缪埃尔斯多蒂尔(Solveig Samuelsdottir)的任期中,乔纳森•谢泼德( Jonathan Shepher)接任退休的斯图亚特•巴洛(Stuart Barlow)担任IFFO总经理。通过这次新转变,IFFO的注意力更多地放在整条产业链上,在IFFO的保护伞下建立起鱼粉与鱼油的经营方和买方——乃至食品加工方及零售方——与生产商之间密切的常规对话,以实现共赢。除了英国总部以及位于利马的秘鲁代表处,IFFO还在北京设立了中国代表处,由此也覆盖了这个行业最大的生产国与最大的消费国。2007年,IFFO董事会决定设法满足产业链的需要,确保进入海洋饲料成分的原材料的来源与纯净。为了更好地向所有股东展示IFFO的成员在原料获取、饲料/食品安全与可追踪领域的负责任实践,IFFO召集了一个多方利益的技术咨询委员会,建立鱼粉与鱼油负责任供应的全球标准(IFFO RS)。2009年9月该标准制定完毕,2009年10月项目开启申请,2010年2月首家工厂通过认证。

2011年,乔纳森•谢泼德作为总经理退休。继任者麦安森(Andrew Mallison,)是海洋管理委员会(MSC)的前主任,还曾管理过英国零售商马莎百货集团(Marks and Spencer )的全球海洋食品采购,并曾经担任政府部门的顾问。我们的管理团体与董事会以及主席尼尔斯•克里斯琴•詹森( Nils Christian Jensen)共同协力,将注意力投向亚洲,扩大IFFO在该地区的影响力,吸收来自中国、越南和泰国的新成员。2013年,英国总部从圣奥尔本斯搬迁到伦敦中部。

IFFO's History

IFFO was formed in 2001, but has a collective history of 50 years, encompassing the activities of its predecessors, namely the Fishmeal Exporters’ Organisation (FEO), International Association of Fish Meal Manufacturers (IAFMM) and International Fishmeal and Oil Manufacturers’ Association (IFOMA).  In 2012, IFFO changed its name from IFFO The Fishmeal and Fish Oil Organisation to IFFO The Marine Ingredients Organisation.

The movement towards a trade organisation was initiated by Louis Abel of France when an informal meeting of European fishmeal producers and scientists was held in Paris early in the 1950s, followed by another meeting in London. In 1956 and 1957 two larger meetings were held in London. In 1958 the South African Fish Meal Producers Organisation offered hospitality in Cape Town and longer and more detailed Producers and Scientific meetings were held. Jim Gardiner, President of the UK Association, and Abe Shapiro, Chairman of Oceana Group, acted as joint Chairmen of the meeting. More countries were represented, including USA, Denmark, Norway, Spain, Angola, Iceland and Portugal. At a follow-up meeting in Madrid in 1959 it was decided that the International Association of Fish Meal Manufacturers (IAFMM) should be established by producers from Angola, France, Germany, South Africa, Spain and UK. These meetings were essentially in the format subsequently adopted for the Annual Conferences.

In 1960, when the apparent imbalance between supply and demand was seriously affecting world markets, some major exporters of fishmeal realised the need for more detailed study of the main consuming markets and founded the Fishmeal Exporters’ Organisation (FEO), with producers and exporters from Angola, Norway, South Africa and Peru, and subsequently Chile, Denmark and Iceland. Those who participated on behalf of Peru included Luis Banchero Rossi, who later became the largest producer of fishmeal in the world and Carlos Sotomayor. Jacques Schwarz, a major trader based in Paris, was appointed as the first Secretary General in 1960 when the “Convenio de Paris” was signed by the largest exporters of fishmeal forming the Fishmeal Exporters’ Organisation (FEO). In 1970 CORPESCA, then and now, the largest producer in Chile, joined FEO and played a major role in organising the data used for the analysis of the markets.

In 1964 IAFMM, under its second president Alex Olney (UK), decided to invite agents, importers and brokers to attend its Annual Meetings. During that year producers in Denmark and Morocco joined IAFMM.

26 years later in 1990, following years of growing and productive co-operation between producers and traders, end-users and related service industries, the then IAFMM President, Felipe Zaldivar Larraine, Chairman of CORPESCA in Chile, together with the second Director General, Stuart Barlow, invited IAFMM to consider formalising the relationship by instituting Associate Membership of IAFMM. This offered membership to companies in the industry which were not producers of fishmeal and fish oil. This offer was readily taken up and 45 new Associate Members joined in the first year. In 1992 the then President of IAFFM, Vivian Epstein, MD of Suiderland Development Corp., South Africa, realised that, because IAFMM had developed over the years into an essentially scientific research-based organisation, there were grants and UK tax advantages in reconstituting IAFMM as an English company limited by guarantee. This was achieved with advice from the UK Government's Department of Trade and Industry and a new body was formed in 1993 called the International Fishmeal and Oil Manufacturers’ Association (IFOMA). Under this new structure IFOMA was able to purchase new offices in St Albans, north of London - a much better facility than the original cramped rented offices of IAFMM on the 3rd and 4th floors of an old building in the centre of London. IFOMA also had a branch office in Lima.

In 1999, the main financiers of IFOMA (formerly IAFMM) and FEO questioned the costs and efficiencies of running two international organisations and proposed that the work and administration of both organisations should be merged into one organisation. The Presidents of both organisations, namely Helge Korsager (UK) of IFOMA and Eduardo Goycoolea (Chile) of FEO were invited to consider the feasibility of such a merger, together with the two managers, Stuart Barlow, Director General of IFOMA and Joe Bololanik, the Secretary General of FEO. The result was the formation of the International Fishmeal and Fish Oil Organisation (IFFO) in 2001 with headquarters at St Albans, under the joint care-taker Presidency of Messrs Korsager and Goycoolea and with Stuart Barlow being appointed as Director General and Joe Bololanik as Executive Adviser. The Paris office was subsequently closed.

During this time of transition, concern was felt that the many producer companies in Peru might choose not to join the new organisation, mainly because some did not have a history of participating in the activities of the earlier organisations. The first elected President of IFFO, Ivan Orlic of Peru, who had played a significant part in bringing the two organisations together, worked tirelessly persuading producers in Peru to join IFFO during his two years in office. As a result of his efforts, IFFO flourished with considerable support from Producer Members and Associate Members in Peru, as well as continued support from other member countries which had formed the backbone of both organisations.

In 2004, Jonathan Shepherd was appointed to succeed Stuart Barlow as Director General on his retirement, which happened during the tenure of IFFO's first Lady President, Solveig Samuelsdottir from Iceland. With this new transition, greater focus was given on the whole value chain, bringing traders and buyers of fishmeal and fish oil - and even food processors and retailers - into regular close dialogue with producers under the IFFO umbrella to mutual advantage. In addition to the UK head office and the Peruvian sub-office in Lima, IFFO also established a presence in Beijing, China, thus covering the largest producer and largest consumer countries of the industry. In 2007, the IFFO Board decided to address the value chain’s need for reassurance on the origin and purity of the raw materials going into marine ingredients; and in order to better demonstrate to all stakeholders the commitment of IFFO’s members to responsible practices in the areas of raw material procurement, feed/food safety and traceability, a multi-stakeholder Technical Advisory Committee was convened to develop a Global Standard for the Responsible Supply (IFFO RS) of fishmeal and fish oil.  The standard was finalised in September 2009, the programme opened for applications in October 2009 and the first factory was certified in February 2010. 

In 2011, Jonathan Shepherd retired as Director General.  He was succeeded by Andrew Mallison, a previous Director at the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC), who also managed global seafood sourcing for British retailer Marks and Spencer and was an advisor to government ministers.  Working with the Board and President Nils Christian Jensen, the management team shifted focus to increasing IFFO’s presence in Asia, resulting in new members from China, Vietnam and Thailand.  

In 2012, IFFO changed its name from IFFO The Fishmeal and Fish Oil Organisation to IFFO The Marine Ingredients Organisation to reflect the increasing diversity of its membership and changes in the industry.  This name change was accompanied with a new logo and full rebrand, introducing a fresher design.  In 2013, the UK office moved from St Albans to Central London to improve access for members.

What are Marine Ingredients?

Marine ingredients are nutritious products used mainly for human consumption or animal feed and are derived from marine organisms such as fish, krill, shellfish and algae.

Who Are IFFO?

IFFO is the international ‘not for profit’ organisation that represents and promotes the fishmeal, fish oil and wider marine ingredients industry worldwide.